Reading for Fun!

This year, I started using a new-to-me reading curriculum, Units of Study from the Teacher’s College.  One requirement they list, to have a classroom that developed of love of reading in children, was for the teacher to “wear their love of reading on their sleeve”.  I wondered, did I even love to read?

I really couldn’t remember a time I’d read for fun.  I have always enjoyed reading but I’ve always read for school.  When I was an English major in college, I read for class.  When I was new in my career I didn’t have time to read much but when I did it was articles about teaching.  When I taught high school, I read what my students read.  I know I picked up pleasure reading at times over the years but it was never a significant enough part of my life to become a memory.

I had never considered that this could effect my Kindergartners.  But, now, I think it can. I wanted to love reading. So, I decided to read for fun.

I found that, to become a real reader, I had to make reading a habit.  I started to force myself to read each night (rather than those late night instagram or facebook binges…)  So far, it has actually worked.  I have been having fun!  The more books I have finished, the more incentive it’s given me to keep reading a book I’m not completely in love with.  Before, I would give up more easily but now that I read more, I know if I don’t love this book, maybe I’ll love the next one.  Also, I have found it helpful to have several books (a fiction, a non fiction, and a spiritual book) going at once so I can switch it up as my mood changes.  I also use audible to listen to books on my commute.

I’ve been keeping an ongoing list of what I am reading over here.  If I have something to say about the book, I’ll post it there, too!  Keeping a list on my blog has actually helped me stay motivated to plow through more challenging books.  Enjoy the list and please feel free to send me book recommendations, as well! 🙂

3 thoughts on “Reading for Fun!

  1. Have you ever read Roots?
    Tracey and I had that as our car book on Audible for a while. Kind of life changing…

      • Well, the miniseries was based on the book by Alex Haley.
        I haven’t seen the miniseries, but I’m sure the book is much more expansive.
        It gives a clear perspective on the people that were stolen from their homes and cultures in Africa and shows the clear lineage of the current racial divide. Extremely tragic and heart wrenching.

Leave a Reply

